Salina, KS

Now: 36 °

Currently: Cloudy

Hi: 55 ° | Lo: 30 °

World Series Champions!

KSAL StaffNovember 1, 2015

Sunday night belonged to Matt Harvey. Monday morning – and now a World Series title – belongs to the Kansas City Royals.

After Harvey dominated the first eight innings of Game 5, the Royals broke through to tie the game in the ninth, then scored five runs in the 12th to beat the New York Mets 7-2 and win their first World Series title since 1985.

Eric Hosmer sprinted home for the tying run on a groundout to third baseman David Wright in the ninth, and then the Royals wrapped up the title an early morning hit parade against the Mets bullpen.

Salvador Perez led off the 12th with a single off Addison Reed. Pinch-runner Jarrod Dyson stole second, then later scored on pinch-hitter Christian Colon’s single to left.

Daniel Murphy’s error allowed Paulo Orlando to reach, and Alcides Escobar scored Colon with a double to left. After Ben Zobrist was intentionally walked, Lorenzo Cain hit a three-run double off Bartolo Colon.

Wade Davis entered to pitch the bottom of the 12th and struck out Wilmer Flores to kick off the party.

Copyright © Rocking M Media, 2018. All Rights Reserved. No part of this story may be reproduced without Rocking M Media’s express consent.




Royals GM to Speak in Salina

October 31, 2017 10:23 am

Museum to Host World War I Presentation

October 29, 2017 9:30 am

World Polio Day Event in Salina

October 22, 2017 6:00 am




Students Accused in Sex A...
January 19, 2018Comments
Tax Assistance Volunteers...
January 19, 2018Comments
Retired State Trooper Cha...
January 18, 2018Comments
Cops Tried to Out Underco...
January 18, 2018Comments


Read all tweets
© 2007 - 2018