Salina, KS

Now: 45 °

Currently: Overcast and Breezy

Hi: 46 ° | Lo: 35 °

Kansas Law Enforcement Agencies Honored

KSAL StaffFebruary 19, 2019

The Salina Police Department is among 41 law enforcement agencies  throughout the the state being honored with AAA Kansas Community Traffic Safety Awards for their 2018 work to keep roadways in their cities and counties safe through a variety of initiatives and programs.

According to AAA, the awards have been presented annually since 2011 to community law enforcement agencies for their efforts to successfully and cost-effectively improve local traffic safety. The agencies are scored and recognized for their efforts in multiple categories, including education, emergency medical response, enforcement and engineering.

“Our police departments and sheriff’s offices in Kansas do an excellent job in keeping motorists, cyclists and pedestrians safe in their communities,” said Shawn Steward, Public Affairs Manager for AAA Kansas. “We salute these 41 law enforcement partners for their commitment, hard work and, in many cases, creative community engagement, in delivering effective and successful traffic safety programs.”

The winning law enforcement agencies will be recognized by AAA Kansas with award plaques in their communities. The honored agencies and their award levels are as follows:


Agency 2018 Award Level
Andover Police Department Platinum
Arkansas City Police Department Platinum
Barton County Sheriff’s Office Bronze
Bonner Springs Police Department Platinum
Brown County Sheriff’s Office Platinum
Caney Police Department Platinum
Cherokee County Sheriff’s Office Platinum
Cloud County Sheriff’s Office Gold
Coffeyville Police Department Silver
Dodge City Police Department Platinum
El Dorado Police Department Platinum
Fort Scott Police Department Platinum
Franklin County Sheriff’s Office Bronze
Gardner Police Department Silver
Hays Police Department Platinum
Hiawatha Police Department Platinum
Horton Police Department Platinum
Johnson County Sheriff’s Office Bronze
Kansas City Kansas Police Department Gold
Leawood Police Department Platinum
Lenexa Police Department Platinum
Linn County Sheriff’s Office Silver
Lyon County Sheriff’s Office Platinum
McPherson Police Department Silver
Miami County Sheriff’s Office Gold
Mission Police Department Platinum
Olathe Police Department Gold
Osawatomie Police Department Platinum
Overland Park Police Department Gold
Parsons Police Department Platinum
Pittsburg Police Department Platinum
Roeland Park Police Department Platinum
Salina Police Department Platinum
Sedgwick County Sheriff’s Office Silver
Seneca Police Department Platinum
Shawnee Police Department Gold
Spring Hill Police Department Platinum
Wellsville Police Department Silver
Westwood Police Department Platinum
Wichita Police Department Gold
Wyandotte County Sheriff’s Office Gold


Six Kansas law enforcement agencies have earned a AAA Kansas Community Traffic Safety Award in each of the eight years the awards have been given: Andover Police Department, Arkansas City Police Department, Cherokee County Sheriff’s Office, Olathe Police Department, Pittsburg Police Department and Shawnee Police Department.


Copyright © Rocking M Media, 2020. All Rights Reserved. No part of this story may be reproduced without Rocking M Media’s express consent.





Salina Coat Drive Looking...
October 22, 2020Comments
Two Presbyterian Manor Em...
October 22, 2020Comments
Candidates To Participate...
October 22, 2020Comments
38 New Positive COVID Cas...
October 21, 2020Comments


Read all tweets
© 2007 - 2020 - EEO  - KDJM  - KABI  - KSAL-AM  - KSAL-FM  - KVOB  - KYEZ  - KZUH