Salina, KS

Now: 36 °

Currently: A Few Clouds

Hi: 47 ° | Lo: 29 °

USD 305 Announces Teachers of Year for 2018-19

Todd PittengerMarch 16, 2018

A couple of Salina educators received some unexpected good news this week when the Salina USD 305 School District announced its 2018 – 2019 Teachers of the year .

Travis Peterson is the secondary teacher of the year. He teaches at Opportunity Now. Jacy Murphy is the elementary school teacher of the year. She teaches Kindergarten at Meadowlark Ridge Elementary School.

USD 305 Superintendent Dr. James Hardy showed up in each teacher’s classroom and surprised them with the good news.

Both teachers will be honored at a later date in Salina by the USD 305 School Board, and by the Salina Education Foundation.

Each year two instructors are nominated for the Kansas Teacher of the Year program. The awards are sponsored by the Kansas State Department of Education and affiliated with the National Teacher of the Year program.


Learning that he is the district’s secondary Teacher of the Year 2018-19, Travis Peterson(center) is joined by Dr. Hardy, superintendent(l) and Opportunity Now Principal James Lumley(r). (USD 305 photo)


Jacy Murphy is named elementary Teacher of the Year for 2018-19 at USD 305. She is joined by Superintendent Dr. Hardy(l) and Deena Hilbig, Meadowlark Principal(r). (USD 305 photo)

Copyright © Rocking M Media, 2021. All Rights Reserved. No part of this story may be reproduced without Rocking M Media’s express consent.





Sheriff Soldan Named to P...
January 15, 2021Comments
Motorcycle and Electronic...
January 15, 2021Comments
Debit Card Crime Caught o...
January 15, 2021Comments
Next Paycheck Protection ...
January 15, 2021Comments


Read all tweets