Salina, KS

Now: 59 °

Currently: Fair

Hi: 59 ° | Lo: 30 °

Salina To Honor Fallen Officers

KSAL StaffMay 15, 2016

A ceremony to honor Salina and Saline County law enforcement officers, and state troopers who have died in the line of duty will be held Monday.

The Congress and President of the United States have designated May 15 as Peace Officers Memorial Day, and the Week in which May 15 falls as National Police week.

The City of Salina honors the valor, service and sacrifice of its peace officers and those of other agencies locally and nationwide.

Five local officers, from the Salina Police Department and the Saline County Sheriff’s Office, have given their lives in the line of duty. These heroes and their end of watch dates are as follows:

  • Officer John Stonebraker – 02/12/1917
  • Officer Tom Carson – 11/29/1920
  • Officer Olney E. Eaton – 05/31/1942
  • Sheriff Fred Bell – 5/17/1952
  • Officer Jerry R. Ivey – 06/13/1975

The public is invited to attend the 2016 Law Enforcement Memorial Service Monday at 8 a.m. in Jerry Ivey Park, 2465 Edward Street. The park is named in honor of the last Salina Police Officer killed in the line of duty. Jerry Ivey was killed on June 13th, 1975, during an exchange of gunfire with a robbery suspect.

After the park ceremony, the public is invited to join Salina Police Chief Brad L. Nelson at 9 a.m. for the unveiling of the new memorial wall at the Salina Police Department’s main lobby, 255 N. 10 th Street.

Refreshments will be provided at the police department.

Copyright © Rocking M Media, 2017. All Rights Reserved. No part of this story may be reproduced without Rocking M Media’s express consent.




Daughtry Coming to Salina

December 12, 2017 7:08 am

Salina Crime Stoppers 12-8-17

December 8, 2017 10:51 am




“Next Women of Coun...
December 18, 2017Comments
Profanity Laced Calls to ...
December 18, 2017Comments
UPDATE: Suspect Identifie...
December 18, 2017Comments
Winners Selected For 2017...
December 17, 2017Comments


Read all tweets
© 2007 - 2017