Salina Students Honored With “Jester” Nominations

Students from Salina are among high school thespians across the state nominated for prestigious Jester Awards. The awards honor excellence in the production of high school musicals across Kansas.

Salina South’s production of All Shook Up is honored to have received several Jester Award nominations.

Salina South received the following nominations:

  • Overall Production
  • Direction of a Show – Kate Lindsay
  • Leading Actor – Santiago Vasquez (Chad)
  • Supporting Actor – Jacob Sweet (Dennis)
  • Ensemble/Chorus
  • Overall Production Number – “Can’t Help Falling in Love”
  • Orchestra Direction – Alyssa Lane
  • Vocal Music Direction – Eddie B Creer, Jr.
  • Artistic Guest – Sam DeChant (Choreography)
  • Stage Crew
  • Sound Design – Eddie B Creer, Jr.
  • Technical Guest – Kay Engelland, Eve Boyle, Pam Debold (Costume Design)
  • Technical Guest – J.R. Lidgett (Lighting Design)
  • Technical Guest – Roger Coberly (Scenic Design)

Southeast of Saline’s production of Honk! of  was also honored to have received a couple of Jester Award nominations.

Southeast of Saline received the following nominations:

  • Pre-High School Performer – Kate Breeding, Brynn Parry, Tiernan Ptacek, Noah Rupert, Maci Seidel (Ducklings)
  • Production Number – “Warts and All”

Sacred Heart Jr/Sr High School’s production of Little Women also was nominated in the Pre-High School Performer category with Gavin Harris as Laurie Laurence.

Shows receiving Overall Production nominations and Leading Actor/Actress nominations are also invited to perform at the Jester Awards Ceremony; South students are excited to perform at the awards. The awards are Sunday, May 5 at 4:00pm at the Century II Performing Arts Center in Wichita. Students will participate in a red carpet event prior to the awards ceremony.

The Jester Award program recognizes the extraordinary amount of work, creativity, and dedication that faculty and students pour into their high school theatrical productions. Recognition is given to casts and crews, directors and designers ? all who work to stage these great works of musical theatre.

The Jester Awards Ceremony is scheduled to take place May 5, 2019, 4pm at the Century II Performing Arts Center.