Salina Future Teachers To Be Honored

A couple of potential future teachers will be honored.

The Salina Education Foundation announced three new LIFT recipients. According to the organization, LIFT stands for Loan Initiative for Future Teachers.

The recipients areĀ  Tanji Lewis, a senior at Salina Central, Michelle Franco, a senior at Salina South, and Ayla Beaugh, a junior at Wichita State University. They will be honored at a reception prior to the Board of Education meeting Tuesday evening.

The LIFT program rewards exemplary Saline County residents who want to become teachers. It provides up to $5,000 per year while the student works toward an initial teaching certificate. The Salina Education Foundation forgives up to $5,000 of that loan for each year the new teacher is employed by USD 305.

Grant recipients will also be recognized. Over $24,000 will be awarded to teachers and staff for the school year 2015-16. Both LIFT and grant recipients will be presented to the Board at the beginning of its meeting.