Nominations Sought For Judge Position

The 21st Judicial District Nominating Commission is seeking candidates to fill a district judge vacancy that will be created when Judge David L. Stutzman steps down June 3 to accept a senior judge assignment.

The 21st judicial district includes Clay and Riley counties.

Justice Marla J. Luckert, the Supreme Court departmental justice responsible for the 21st judicial district, said candidates can apply or be recommended, but recommendations must come on a nomination form and include the candidate’s signature.

Candidates for district judge must be a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas and have been engaged in the practice of law for at least five years, whether as a lawyer, judge, or full-time teacher at an accredited law school. The candidate also must be a resident of the 21st judicial district at the time of taking office and maintain that residency while holding office.

Applications must be accompanied by a nomination form available from the clerk of the district court office in Clay and Riley counties, the clerk of the appellate courts office in the Judicial Center in Topeka, or online at under What’s New.

Completed nomination forms and supporting letters must be received no later than noon July 1, 2016, by:

William J. Bahr

801 Poyntz Avenue

Manhattan, KS 66502

The nominating commission will convene at 8:30 a.m. Monday, July 18, 2016, at the Riley County Courthouse, 100 Courthouse Plaza, Manhattan, to interview candidates. Interviews are open to the public. When the interviews conclude, the commission will select three to five candidates whose names will be submitted to the governor and he will decide whom to appoint.

The 21st Judicial District Nominating Commission consists of Justice Marla J. Luckert as the nonvoting chair; William J. Bahr, James W. Morrison, Derrick L. Roberson, Richard H. Seaton Jr., and Johanna D. Lyle of Manhattan; Kyle C. Bauer and Steven C. McMahan of Clay Center; and Steven L. Hargrave of Randolph.