Salina, KS

Now: 52 °

Currently: Cloudy

Hi: 54 ° | Lo: 52 °

KWU’s Brooks Highlights All-KCAC Men’s Basketball Teams

KCAC ReleaseFebruary 19, 2019

WICHITA, Kan. – The Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference is pleased to announce the 2018-19 men’s basketball All-Conference awards. Student-athletes were selected for all awards by vote of the KCAC head men’s basketball coaches.

The Eagles of Oklahoma Wesleyan University are the regular season champions, ending the season with a 22-2 conference record and ranked No. 1 in the most recent NAIA Division-II Poll. KCAC men’s basketball coaches named Donnie Bostwick of Oklahoma Wesleyan, Coach of the Year.

Cameron Hunt of Southwestern College earns Player of the Year honors, while Joshua Wilchombe of Oklahoma Wesleyan University was awarded Defensive Player of the Year. James Brooks of Kansas Wesleyan University earned Newcomer of the Year, and Jaylon Scott of Bethel College was named Freshman of the Year.

The following athletes were selected by conference men’s basketball coaches as All-KCAC First Team, Second Team, Third Team, Honorable Mention, Defensive Team, and Freshman Team.

Statistical information on the 2018-19 men’s basketball season can be found here.


First Team      
Name School Year Hometown
Cameron Hunt (U)@~ Southwestern Sr. Duncanville, Texas
Jordan Murdock (U)*~ Friends Sr. Wichita, Kan.
Isaiah Palmer (U)^~ Ottawa Sr. Brooklyn, N.Y.
Joshua Wilchombe (U)D+~ OKWU Sr. Elmont, N.Y.
KJ Malveau (U)* OKWU Sr. Fort Worth, Texas
Second Team      
Name School Year Hometown
James Brooks (U)# KWU Jr. Frontenac, Kan.
Tyler Larkin (U)^~ Bethany Sr. Denver, Colo.
Patrick Burnett (U)~ York Sr. Erie, Pa.
Lavaris Duncan (U) Bethany So. San Antonio, Texas
James Conley Friends Jr. Wichita, Kan.
Third Team      
Name School Year Hometown
Raylon Howard (U) USM Jr. Ft Worth, Texas
Shandon Boone Avila Jr. Alton, Ill.
Isaak Rowe^~ OKWU Sr. Mansfield, Texas
Andrew Hamm Southwestern Jr. Houston, Texas
Jaylon Scott F Bethel Fr. Allen, Texas
Honorable Mention      
Name School Year Hometown
Tasmania Jones Ottawa Sr. Parkin, Ark.
Marquis Kraemer KWU So. Aurora, Colo.
Brent Smith Southwestern Sr. Goddard, Kan.
JaMiah Windom-Hayes~ Sterling So. Kyle, Texas
Lance Tipton OKWU Jr. Midlothian, Texas
Tevin Berry Tabor Jr. Newton, Kan.
Atir Cherne Friends Sr. Wichita, Kan.
Jake Feickert OKWU Sr. Flower Mound, Texas
Elbert Lawrence OKWU Sr. Dallas, Texas
Ryan Haskins Ottawa Jr. Osage City, Kan.
Teyvon Lundy USM Sr. New Orleans, La.
Vernon Vaughn Friends Sr. Kansas City, Kan.
AJ Range KWU So. Junction City, Kan.
Dakota Foster Bethel Jr. Moore, Okla.
Mike Tolbert York Jr. Apopka, Fla.
Defensive Team      
Name School Year Hometown
Joshua Wilchcombe D OKWU Sr. Elmont, N.Y.
Marquis Kraemer KWU So. Aurora, Colo.
Tyler Larkin Bethany Sr. Aurora, Colo.
Elbert Lawrence OKWU Sr. Dallas, Texas
Jaylon Scott Bethel Fr. Allen, Texas
Freshmen Team      
Name School Year Hometown
Jaylon Scott F Bethel Fr. Allen, Texas
Brooks Haddock OKWU Fr. Muskogee, Okla.
Luke Evans Friends Fr. Wichita, Kan.
Cameron Southern USM Fr. Lenexa, Kan.
Kiesean Weiher Bethel Fr. Plano, Texas
(U) = Unanimous Selection
@= Selected “Player of the Year.”
# = Selected “Newcomer of the Year.”
F= Selected “Freshman of the Year.”
D = Selected “Defensive Player of the Year.”
* = 2017-18 All-KCAC First Team
^ = 2017-18 All-KCAC Second Team
+ = 2017-18 All-KCAC Third Team
~ = 2018-19 All-KCAC Preseason Team

Copyright © Rocking M Media, 2019. All Rights Reserved. No part of this story may be reproduced without Rocking M Media’s express consent.






Heavy Rain Causes Floodin...
May 18, 2019Comments
75th Anniversary D-Day Ce...
May 18, 2019Comments
Beloit Student is Top FHS...
May 18, 2019Comments
Falling Tree Causes Damag...
May 17, 2019Comments


Read all tweets
© 2007 - 2019 - EEO  - KDJM  - KABI  - KSAL-AM  - KSAL-FM  - KVOB  - KYEZ  - KZUH