Disaster Declaration Expands Again

Kansas Governor Laura Kelly is adding more counties to a state disaster declaration.

Seven additional counties in eastern and southern Kansas, including Chautauqua, Clay, Comanche, Coffey, Franklin, Jefferson, and Montgomery are now covered by the declaration.

More than 40 counties have been included in the state disaster declaration, which was originally signed on May 9th following widespread flooding.

The declaration allows the use of state resources to assist with local disaster recovery operations.