Salina, KS

Now: 38 °

Currently: Clear

Hi: 65 ° | Lo: 38 °

City Commission Race Too Close To Call

KSAL StaffApril 7, 2015

After all of the votes were counted Tuesday night, including the electronic ballots and the paper ballots, the Salina City Commission race was officially too close to call.

There is no doubt that Karl Ryan and Dr. Trent Davis finished first and second in the race. Ryan finished with 3,518 votes while Davis had 3,468 votes. Each won a 4 year term on the commission.

What is in doubt, is who will finish third and win a two year term. Randall Hardy leads Joe Hay by just two votes, 2,135 to 2,133. Salina Mayor Aaron Householter trails both by over 400 votes, and has been eliminated.

Saline County Clerk Don Merriman told KSAL News that there are between 25 and 50 provisional ballots that still need to be counted, which will determine who finishes third, and gets a seat on the city commission. If it ends in a tie, a coin flip would determine the winner.

The provisional ballots will be counted Monday morning. Merriman adds that this is the closest election he has ever been involved with.

In the Salina USD 305 School Board race, Ann Zimmerman, Carol Brandert, Nedra Elbl, and Phil Black all won seats.

Overall voter turnout was about 18 percent.

Saline County Clerk Don Merriman delivers the final results Tuesday night.

Saline County Clerk Don Merriman delivers the final results Tuesday night.


Saline County Election Results:

Salina City Commission: (top 3 win commission seats)

Karl Ryan 3,518

Trent Davis 3,468

Randall Hardy 2,135

Joe Hay Jr. 2,133

Aaron Householter 1,702

John Bowman 535

Stephen Swenson 427

Salina USD 305 School Board: (top 4 win board seats)

Ann Zimmerman 3,371

Carol Brandert 3,290

Nedra Elbl 2,623

Phil Black 2,198

Ramona Newsom 1,423

Brendan Burke 1,408

Ann Marie Morris 1,406

Dawn Marie Booher 680

USD 306 #1

Kenny Costigan 326

Linda Sauer 220

USD 306 #2

Dwight D Conley 324

Ryan Commerford 248

USD 306 #3

Brandon D Hughes 337

Jerry R Seim 232

USD 306 At Large

Justin Knopf 510

USD 307 #1

John Fouard 120

USD 307 #2

Jeff Parker 108

USD 307 #3

Cheryl Higgins 105

USD 307 At Large

Michelle Cooper 61

Staton D Diehl 64

Copyright © Meridian Media, 2021. All Rights Reserved. No part of this story may be reproduced without Meridian Media’s express consent.



Salina City Commissioner Reprimanded

November 20, 2017 7:32 pm

Clearwater City Commission Says ‘NoR...

November 15, 2017 7:25 am




Mandatory 10-Digit Dialin...
October 20, 2021Comments
Test to Stay/Learn/Play/P...
October 20, 2021Comments
Annual Grant to Aid Local...
October 20, 2021Comments
Lions Club Hosting 63rd C...
October 20, 2021Comments


Read all tweets