Salina, KS

Now: 43 °

Currently: Clouds

Hi: 60 ° | Lo: 41 °

KFB’s Foundation For Agriculture Awards $23,500 In Scholarships

Kansas Farm BureauApril 19, 2021

Each year Kansas Farm Bureau’s (KFB) Foundation for Agriculture awards scholarships to college students studying in fields that benefit agriculture and rural Kansas. Thirty-nine recipients were awarded $23,500 in scholarships for the 2021-22 school year.

Over the past decade, the foundation has awarded more than $300,000 in scholarships.

“We’re investing in students today to ensure they become tomorrow’s leaders,” says KFB President and Foundation Chair Rich Felts.

Emily Glenn, Finney County, was awarded $1,000 for the Frank and Helen Bernasek Memorial Scholarship, a permanent, privately endowed scholarship fund.

Sydnee Shive, Sedgwick County, received $1,000 for the K-State Agricultural Communications and Journalism Scholarship.

Cara DeTar, Montgomery County, is the winner of the $500 Godfrey and Emma Bahr-Miller Memorial Scholarship, a permanent, privately endowed scholarship fund for students attending a college in Kansas and majoring in a subject related to agriculture.

Kaitlyn Urban, Miami County, was awarded $500 for the DeWitt Ahlerich Memorial Scholarship, a permanent, privately endowed scholarship fund.

Five students received scholarships to Kansas technical colleges. They are Sophie Gerstberger, Wichita County; Austin Patmon, Sheridan County; Seth Ohl, Sumner County; Stuart Rose, Phillips County; and Blaine Whipple, Finney County.

Four $1,000 KFB scholarships were awarded to juniors and seniors enrolled in Kansas State University’s college of agriculture and majoring in a subject related to agriculture. They are Hope Aufdemberge, Riley County; Garrett Craig, Clay County; Kinsey Griffith, Trego County; and Max Harman, McPherson County.

Two $1,000 KFB scholarships were awarded to juniors and seniors enrolled at Fort Hays State University. Recipients are Caleb Hinck, Wabaunsee County, and Andrea Menard, Edwards County.

Twenty-four recipients received $500 scholarships. These students are attending a Kansas college with a Kansas Farm Bureau Collegiate Farm Bureau chapter. Students must be a Collegiate Farm Bureau chapter member.

Recipients include:

Butler Community College
Shelby Henley, Sedgwick County
Shelby Varner, Butler County

Cloud Community College
Abigail Petersen, Cloud County

Colby Community College
Regan Hodsden, Scotts Bluff County, Nebraska

Fort Hays State University
Blake Selensky, Gove County

Fort Scott Community College
Kyleigh Davis, Ada County, Idaho
Guadalupe Rico, Palo Pinto County, Texas

Hutchinson Community College
Morgan Carmichael, Reno County
Laura Doll, Sedgwick County
Macy Hoskinson, Reno County
Sarah Sergeant, Coffey County

Kansas State University
Leah Bienhoff, Smith County
Molly Biggs, Shawnee County
Brandon Carp, Sedgwick County
Kayley Geesling, Reno County
Chad Hibdon, Franklin County
Holly Holthaus, Marshall County
Shyanne Jones, Labette County
Cale McCabe, Reno County
Sara Schlickau, Reno County
Zoe Schultz, Gove County
Katelynn Wilt, Reno County
Isaac Wingert, Franklin County
Seth Yenni, McPherson County

Copyright © Meridian Media, 2023. All Rights Reserved. No part of this story may be reproduced without Meridian Media’s express consent.





No Weekend Powerball Jack...
February 5, 2023Comments
February Most Wanted Onli...
February 5, 2023Comments
Juvenile Killed in Crash
February 5, 2023Comments
Math / Science Academy P...
February 5, 2023Comments