Salina, KS

Now: 78 °

Currently: Partly Cloudy

Hi: 89 ° | Lo: 71 °

Governor Appoints Two New County Commissioners

KSAL StaffDecember 18, 2014

Kansas Governor Sam Brownback Thursday named two individuals to seats on the Saline County Commission effective Jan. 12, 2015.

Luci Larson will fill the District 4 seat and David Smith is appointed to District 5.

Larson is a small business owner who has previously served on the Salina City Commission and as Mayor from 2009-2010. She is active in numerous volunteer organizations.

Smith has been active in Salina business since 1972, as a banker and real estate appraiser. He is active in the community and serves on several boards.

Voters in Saline County approved expansion of the county commission from three seats to five in the Nov. 4 election. This  triggered a statute that requires the Governor to appoint individuals to these newly created seats within 30 days of certification of the new districts. The commissioners will then stand for election in two years.

Separate from these appointments, the Governor expressed concern about whether the  statutory appointments process is truly appropriate in these circumstances.

“The people of Saline County voted for this expansion of the County Commission and they should have had the right to select its new members through the electoral process,” said Governor Brownback. “I believe this statute should be changed to allow the local community to choose its representatives.”

Copyright © Rocking M Media, 2020. All Rights Reserved. No part of this story may be reproduced without Rocking M Media’s express consent.



Saline County Open Burning Laws Change

December 12, 2017 2:43 pm

Man Falls to His Death in Trego County

December 11, 2017 6:56 am




Y Preparing for Fall Leag...
August 12, 2020Comments
Two Hurt in Camper Rollov...
August 12, 2020Comments
Over $28,000 in Jewelry S...
August 12, 2020Comments
Car Strikes Taco Bell Sig...
August 12, 2020Comments


Read all tweets
© 2007 - 2020 - EEO  - KDJM  - KABI  - KSAL-AM  - KSAL-FM  - KVOB  - KYEZ  - KZUH