Fourteen Mustangs, Cougars Garner AVCTL-I Honors

Despite three combined wins between the schools, Salina Central and South placed 14 on the All-AVCTL Division One Teams.

Salina South had five make the first team, led by juniors Jayden Miller, Isaac Mitchell and Cai Calvert. Senior Payton Webb and junior Nolan Cox joined the trio after a 3-7 season. The Cougars were one of four AVCTL-I teams to win a postseason game. South upset Liberal 24-14 on the road in the first round of the Class 5A playoffs.

Five Salina Central Mustangs were on the second team, but the two first teamers were senior Luis Sotelo and junior Cole Butts. Both manned the trenches for the Mustangs, who went 0-9 for the second straight season.

Derby represented the league in the Class 6A state championship in Emporia, falling to Blue Valley North 49-42. The Panthers have six on the first team, highlighted by the offensive player of the year Brody Kooser.

The 9-2 Maize Eagles had five make the first team, led by defensive player of the year PJ Smith. Maize lost to eventual state champion Bishop Carroll 26-14 in the quarterfinals.

Offensive Player of the Year – Brody Kooser, SR, Derby
Defensive Player of the Year – PJ Smith, SR, Maize
Coach of the Year – Gary Guzman, Maize; Greg Slade, Campus

First Team Offense
Quarterback – Federico Harvey, Jr., SR, Campus
Running back – Brody Kooser, SR, Derby; Brody Smith, SR, Hutchinson
Wide receiver – Tyler Brown, SR, Derby; Tyler Kahmann, JR, Campus
Linemen – Evan Clark, SR, Derby; Nolan Cox, JR, Salina South, Jordan Denison, SR, Hutchinson; Seth Falley, JR, Campus; Luis Sotelo, SR, Salina Central
Tight end – Quinton Hicks, JR, Campus
Utility – Brayden Payne, SR, Maize

First Team Defense
Defensive linemen – Dylan Jensen, SR, Hutchinson; Jayden Miller, JR, Salina South
Defensive end – Cole Butts, JR, Salina Central; Isaac Mitchell, JR, Salina South
Linebacker – Antonio Espinoza, SR, Maize; Quinton Hicks, JR, Campus; Cade Lindsey, JR, Derby; PJ Smith, SR, Maize
Defensive back – Cai Calvert, JR, Salina South; Javon Davis, SR, Derby; Cameron Harvey, JR, Campus; Jalen Johnson, SR, Maize

First Team Special Teams
Punter – Payton Webb, SR, Salina South
Kicker – Ethan Kingrey, SR, Maize; Dalton Rogers, SR, Campus
Returner – Brody Kooser, SR, Derby

Second Team Offense
Quarterback – Caleb Grill, JR, Maize; Hunter Igo, JR, Derby
Running back – Tayezhan Crough, SO, Hutchinson; Joesiah Galindo, SR, Hutchinson; Cameron Harvey, JR, Campus; Dalyn Johnson, SR, Maize; Taylon Peters, JR, Salina Central
Wide receiver – Kedric Liggins, SR, Salina Central; Michael Littleton, SR, Derby; Jack Taylor, SR, Derby
Linemen – Jordan Hallberg, SR, Maize; Dylan Jensen, SR, Hutchinson; Gage Jones, SR, Derby; Matt Kloxin, SR, Campus; Jordan Renard, SR, Derby
Tight end – Brady Wells, SR, Derby

Second Team Defense
Linemen – Austin Corwin, SR, Hutchinson; Bryce Westermoreland, JR, Derby
Defensive end – Isaac Keener, JR, Derby; Noah Stanton, JR, Maize
Linebacker – Colton Miller, SR, Hutchinson; Jacob Ormsby, JR, Derby; Payton Webb, SR, Salina South
Defensive back – Migc Aiyanyor, JR, Salina Central; Dax Benway, JR, Derby; Carson Biehler, SR, Hutchinson; Federico Harvey Jr., SR, Campus; AJ Johnson, FR, Salina South; Davian Vigil, JR, Hutchinson

Second Team Special Teams
Punter – Brogen Richardson, JR, Salina Central
Kicker – Landon Dimmit, JR, Hutchinson; Taylon Peters, JR, Salina Central
Returner – Brody Smith, SR, Hutchinson

Honorable Mentions
Quarterback – Grant Adler, SO, Derby
Wide receiver – Braden Haak, SR, Campus
Linemen – Hunter Degarmo, SR, Hutchinson; Brynden Grow, SR, Hutchinson
Tight end – Logan Horst, SR, Salina Central
Defensive linemen – Mateo Martinez, JR, Campus; Ethan Resley, SR Salina South
Defensive back – Colton Lumpkins, SR, Maize
Punter – Caleb Grill, JR, Maize