Three Area FB Players Selected for 2020 Shrine Bowl

Pat StrathmanJanuary 4, 2020

The 47th edition of the Kansas Shrine Bowl will feature three standout seniors from the area.

Salina Central quarterback Jackson Kavanagh, Salina South wide receiver Ty Garrett, and McPherson defensive lineman Cody Stufflebean were selected to the Kansas Shrine Bowl. The event will take place on Saturday, July 18, at Yager Stadium on the campus of Washburn University in Topeka.

Kavanagh was an honorable mention all-state selection and a second-team All-AVCTL selection at quarterback. Kavanagh threw for 1,337 yards and 13 touchdowns in his senior campaign.

Garrett is Salina South’s school-record holder in single season and career receptions. Garrett reeled in 142 catches for 1,770 receiving yards, reaching No. 2 in South history. He was a first-team All-AVCTL pick at receiver for back-to-back years, including a first-team all-state selection in Class 5A.

Stufflebean was named a first-team all-state selection in Class 4A this past year. McPherson has now had at least one Shrine Bowl selection in 13 straight seasons.

All players will be representing their high school, the Kansas Shrine Bowl and most importantly the Shriners Hospitals for Children and their patients. All proceeds from the game go to benefit the network of 22 hospitals.

Copyright © Rocking M Media, 2020. All Rights Reserved. No part of this story may be reproduced without Rocking M Media’s express consent.




HS BB Coaches Corner – 1/18

January 18, 2020 10:12 am

Central Outlasts Hutch in Sweep

January 17, 2020 11:05 pm




Gov. Kelly Announced Reor...
January 17, 2020Comments
Vandals Shatter Windows
January 17, 2020Comments
Salina To Celebrate King ...
January 17, 2020Comments
Governor’s Budget C...
January 17, 2020Comments


Read all tweets
© 2007 - 2020 - EEO  - KDJM  - KABI  - KSAL-AM  - KSAL-FM  - KVOB  - KYEZ  - KZUH