Salina, KS

Now: 54 °

Currently: Clouds

Hi: 56 ° | Lo: 47 °

Salina, Concordia Truck Drivers Honored

KSAL StaffFebruary 7, 2014

A Salina man and Concordia man as honored as drivers of the year.

According to the Kansas Aggregate Producers’ Association and Kansas Ready Mixed Concrete Association, Earl Krug and James Ball are their Drivers of the Year. The men were awarded a $250 cash prize, recognition at the KAPA-KRMCA 46th Annual Joint Convention Awards Program, personal plaque and company plaque as well as a customized Driver of the Year bumper sticker to display on their trucks.

Krug drives for Salina Concrete Products. He has been an employee since May of 2009. During his employment has proven to be an invaluable asset. Earl keeps his truck very clean due to attention to detail and work ethic. He is also very diligent in monitoring the quality of concrete in his truck, ensuring that customers get the highest quality concrete possible. Earl is a model employee representing SCP specifically and the Ready Mix industry in general when he is on and off the clock.

James Ball drives for Alsop Sand in Concordia. He has been with the company for 17 years. He is the kind of driver that pays attention and looks after his truck. Jim is proactive in spotting problems in the early stages before they are safety risks and properly solves them. Taking pride in his job, Jim understands that without satisfied customers, everyone is out of a job. A truly qualified, well rounded employee—Jim is the kind of driver that all trucking companies wish they had more of.

The Driver of the Year Award is a program that the Kansas Aggregate Producers’ Association & Kansas Ready Mixed Concrete Association’s Safety & Environment Committee began in 2008 in an effort to recognize and acknowledge contribution that professional drivers make to our industry.

The criterion that must be met by the candidate includes: 1) At least six months of employment, 2) Perfect attendance, 3) No drug/alcohol violations, 4) No at fault accidents, 5) No rejected/returned loads, 6) Good attitude regarding safety, and 7) Keep a well maintained truck from October 1, 2012 to September 30, 2013.

Copyright © Meridian Media, 2023. All Rights Reserved. No part of this story may be reproduced without Meridian Media’s express consent.





Arson Suspected in Truck ...
March 22, 2023Comments
Trespassing at Closed Fun...
March 22, 2023Comments
Farm Show Starts Wednesda...
March 22, 2023Comments
Burglary at Salina Hotel
March 21, 2023Comments