Salina, KS

Now: 56 °

Currently: Clouds

Hi: 56 ° | Lo: 36 °

No Jest: South Theatre Dominates Jester Awards

KSAL StaffMay 13, 2017

On a night that is the equivalent to Oscar’s Night in Hollywood as far as high school thespians in Kansas are concerned, Salina South High School dominated.

The 16th Annual Jester Awards Ceremony took place at Wichita’s historic Orpheum Theatre on Friday night. The awards show event honors excellence in the production of high school musicals across Kansas.

As part of the awards process, a judging team reviewed scores that were given to 44 productions entered for consideration by 38 schools. There were 129 total performances.

Salina South brought home a dozen awards. They include:

  • Outstanding Stage Crew
  • Outstanding Sound Design – Eddie B Creer, Jr.
  • Outstanding Lighting – JR Lidgett
  • Outstanding Costume Design – Kay Engelland, Eve Boyle, Pam Debold
  • Outstanding Ensemble/Chorus
  • Outstanding Orchestra – Darren Brooks
  • Outstanding Musical Direction – Eddie B Creer, Jr.
  • Outstanding Choreography – Samantha DeChant
  • Outstanding Direction – Kate Lindsay
  • Outstanding Leading Actress – Sofie Flores
  • Outstanding Overall Production
  • Jester Scholarship Award Recipient ($2,500) – Sofie Flores.

The awards show Friday night featured a red carpet arrival and several performances from highly nominated productions and performers.

The Jester Awards were started by the Musical Theatre of Wichita in 2002. The goal was to bring positive attention to Kansas high schools for the excellence of the musical shows being produced on their campuses.

Complete List of 2017 Jester Award Nominees


Copyright © Meridian Media, 2023. All Rights Reserved. No part of this story may be reproduced without Meridian Media’s express consent.



Bedbug Talk Dominates County Meeting

September 5, 2017 2:30 pm




“Walk Kansas”...
February 4, 2023Comments
Copper Thieves Sought
February 3, 2023Comments
Salina Police Log 2-3-23
February 3, 2023Comments
Stolen SUV Recovered
February 3, 2023Comments