VIDEO: Troopers Graduate From Academy

A half-dozen Kansas Highway Patrol recruits had their badges pinned on Tuesday afternoon in Salina and officially became Kansas Highway Patrol Troopers.

The six new officers were part of KHP Recruit Class #68, the latest graduates from the Kansas Highway Patrol Training Academy in Salina.

Kansas Governor Laura Kelly was among those who spoke

The highlight of the day was the officers taking their oath, and then each having their new badge pinned on by a chosen loved one.

The Patrol’s six newest Troopers will enter the field training phase of the training program at their assigned locations.

New Troopers will be stationed in the following counties:

  • Trooper Ty Bonesteel – Kingman County
  • Trooper Cole Daughhetee – Butler County
  • Trooper Brandon Meyer – Sedgwick County
  • Trooper Kamren Perkins-Rusher – Sedgwick County
  • Trooper Gunnar Reiss – Johnson/Wyandotte Counties
  • Trooper Akeila Wilson – Sedgwick County

CLICK Photos to Enlarge