Salina, KS

Now: 58 °

Currently: Clouds

Hi: 58 ° | Lo: 36 °

Two Selected For Salina Business Hall Of Fame

KSAL StaffSeptember 3, 2014

The Salina Business Hall of Fame will soon have two new members.

According to the Salina Area Chamber of Commerce, two prominent Salina business persons have been selected to be inducted into the 2014 class of the Salina Business Hall of Fame. They are: Charles Underwood, credited with being the founder of Salina’s milling industry, (Pioneer Category 1858-1925); and Charlie E. Stevens, Jr., founder and owner of Stevens Contractors, Inc. (Contemporary Category 1976-present).

The induction ceremony will be held Wednesday, October 15, 6-8pm at the Salina Country Club. Bill Graves, former Kansas Governor and President/CEO of the American Trucking Associations, will be the featured speaker.

The Salina Business Hall of Fame was established by the Salina Area Chamber of Commerce in 2005. Its purpose is to recognize and honor Salina business leaders, both past and present, who have made extraordinary contributions to Salina, earned the respect of the local community and called attention to the Free Enterprise system and its value to our country and citizens in shaping Salina’s way of life.

Each inductee will be recognized with a commemorative plaque. In addition, plaques honoring each inductee will be displayed at the Chamber office, 120 W. Ash. A biography of each inductee will be printed and distributed at the luncheon.

Past inductees include: (Pioneer) Henry David Lee, Alexander Campbell, Oscar Seitz and Winfield Watson, Benjamin Aaron Litowich; William R. Geis, William A. Phillips, and Thomas Watson Roach; (Historic) Ward A. Marshall, William Henry Graves, John J. Vanier, M.J. Kennedy, Milton Morrison, Charles W. Shaver, C. William “Bill” Exline, Murray Wilson, Ralph E. Reitz, S. Dean Evans, Sr., Whitley Austin, Ben Sellers, George L. Frisbie, and Verla Nesbitt Joscelyn, and (Contemporary) Alfred P.G. Schwan, Charlie Walker, Roy Applequist, Lee Young, Paul E. Junk, Jack Vanier, James R. Allen, Richard E. Brown, Karl Stutterheim, and Mike Berkley.

Tickets for the induction ceremony are $20 per person and can be purchased by calling the Chamber office, 827-9301, emailing [email protected], or online by going to the Chamber’s home page at

Copyright © Meridian Media, 2023. All Rights Reserved. No part of this story may be reproduced without Meridian Media’s express consent.



Two New Salina Business HOF Inductees

September 16, 2013 10:00 am




“Walk Kansas”...
February 4, 2023Comments
Copper Thieves Sought
February 3, 2023Comments
Salina Police Log 2-3-23
February 3, 2023Comments
Stolen SUV Recovered
February 3, 2023Comments