Three KWU, Bethany WBB Players Make All-KCAC Teams

WICHITA, Kan. – The Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference is pleased to announce the 2020-21 KCAC Women’s Basketball all-conference teams and award winners. Student-athletes were selected for all awards by vote of the KCAC head women’s basketball coaches.

Sterling College went 26-0 and 22-0 in conference play to take the regular-season KCAC Women’s Basketball title. K.C. Bassett, head coach of the Warriors, was named the Lonnie Kruse Coach of the Year by her peers.

Brittany Roberts of McPherson College was named the 2021 KCAC Women’s Basketball Player of the Year. Roberts averaged a double-double on the season, scoring 21.29 points per game and pulling down 16.00 rebounds per contest, both top marks in the conference in those statistical categories. She also was third in the conference in steals per game (2.29) and fifth in the KCAC in blocks per game (1.17).

Abby Schmidt of Bethel College was named the KCAC Women’s Basketball Defensive Player of the Year for the third consecutive year. Schmidt was No. 1 in the KCAC in blocks per game (3.33), and second to only Roberts in rebounds per game (14.21). She also swiped 13 steals on the season.

Haylie Anderson of Ottawa University was chosen as the KCAC Women’s Basketball Newcomer of the Year. Anderson averaged 14.9 points per game, 3.05 rebounds per game, 2.10 assists per game, and 1.95 steals per game. Alyvia Owens of Tabor was named Freshman of the Year, following a season in which she averaged 6.5 points per game, 4.46 rebounds per game, 1.04 assists per game, and swiped 1.21 steals per game.

The following athletes were selected by conference women’s basketball coaches as All-KCAC First Team, Second Team, Third Team, Honorable Mention, Defensive Team, and Freshman Team.

Statistical information on the 2020-21 women’s basketball season can be found here.


Brittany Roberts (U) @McPherson CollegeSr.FMansfield, Texas
Kylah Comley (U)Sterling CollegeSr.GSterling, Kan.
Abby Schmidt (U) DBethel CollegeSr.CNewton, Kan.
Bailey BangertSterling CollegeJr.GKingman, Kan.
Zoe ShieldnightTabor CollegeJr.FGore, Okla.



Amanda HillKansas Wesleyan UniversitySr.FRossville, Kan.
Kelcey HinzKansas Wesleyan UniversityJr.FWhitewater, Kan.
Alexis TheusSterling CollegeSr.FLiberty Hill, Texas
Matti MorganAvila UniversitySr.G/FPaola, Kan.
Halei WorthamBethany CollegeSr.GDallas, Texas



Danae GoodwinOklahoma Wesleyan UniversitySr.GVan Buren, Ark.
Taya WilsonSterling CollegeSo.FSterling, Kan.
Autumn GarrettBethany CollegeSo.GTunas, Mo.
Hannah NealisOklahoma Wesleyan UniversitySr.GTulsa, Okla.
Haylie Anderson #Ottawa UniversityJr.GClinton, Utah
Emmiley HendrixsonSterling CollegeJr.GHaven, Kan.



Kendall MichalskiBethel CollegeJr.GTopeka, Kan.
Ashtyn WiebeTabor CollegeJr.GElbing, Kan.
Hannah FergusonBethany CollegeJr.CClay Center, Kan.
Gabby MureebaKansas Wesleyan UniversitySo.GAllen, Texas
Khadijah MillerFriends UniversitySr.GArlington, Texas
Maison MoseleyMcPherson CollegeJr.GWoodward, Okla.
Kasey RiceTabor CollegeJr.GShawnee, Okla.
Alex BearupBethel CollegeJr.GWichita, Kan.
Julia TrujilloYork CollegeSr.FDenver, Colo.
Makayla WatkinsOklahoma Wesleyan UniversityJr.GHuntsville, Ark.
Mariah GrizzleOttawa UniversityJr.FDeSoto, Kan.
Vasha MooreBethany CollegeJr.F/CWeatherford, TExas
Liz VaughnOttawa UniversityJr.GKansas City, Kan.
Kanecia PayneOttawa UniversityJr.FHuntsville, Ala.



Abby Schmidt DBethel CollegeSr.CNewton, Kan.
Taya WilsonSterling CollegeSo.FSterling, Kan.
Ashtyn WiebeTabor CollegeJr.GElbing, Kan.
Autumn GarrettBethany CollegeSo.GTunas, Mo.
Kelcey HinzKansas Wesleyan UniversityJr.FWhitewater, Kan.



Alyvia Owens FTabor CollegeFr.FHutchinson, Kan.
LaMyah RicksKansas Wesleyan UniversityFr.GShawnee Mission, Kan.
Kassie KinniburghFriends UniversityFr.Valley Center, Kan.
Sarah ReinerBethany CollegeFr.CHIghlands Ranch, Colo.
Amanda GraddySouthwestern CollegeFr.GLexington, Okla.


(U)= Unanimous Selection

@= Selected “Player of the Year.”

# = Selected “Newcomer of the Year.”

F= Selected “Freshman of the Year.”

D = Selected “Defensive Player of the Year.”