Salina, KS

Now: 24 °

Currently: Wintry Mix

Hi: 24 ° | Lo: 23 °

KWU’s Gandy Earns KCAC Defensive Player of the Year

KCAC ReleaseFebruary 20, 2018

WICHITA, Kan. – The Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference is pleased to announce the 2017-18 men’s basketball All-Conference awards. Student-athletes were selected for all awards by vote of the KCAC head men’s basketball coaches.

The Moundbuilders of Southwestern College are the regular season champions, ending the season with a 17-5 conference record and ranked No. 12 in the most recent NAIA Division-II Poll. KCAC men’s basketball coaches named Matt O’Brien of Southwestern, Coach of the Year.

Jordan Murdock of Friends University earns Player of the Year honors, while KJ Malveau of Oklahoma Wesleyan University was awarded Newcomer of the Year. Terell Gandy of Kansas Wesleyan University earned Defensive Player of the Year, and Jamiah Windom-Haynes of Sterling College was named Freshman of the Year.

The following athletes were selected by conference men’s basketball coaches as All-KCAC First Team, Second Team, Third Team, Honorable Mention, Defensive Team, and Freshman Team.

Statistical information on the 2017-18 men’s basketball season can be found here.

All-KCAC First Team

Jordan Murdock (U)@^         Friends            Jr.        G         Wichita, Kan.

Cameron Hunt (U)*~  Southwestern  Jr.        G         Duncanville, Texas

Julian Winton (U)*~   Tabor   Sr.        G         Kansas City, Mo.

KJ Malveau (U)#        Oklahoma Wesleyan   Jr.        G         Fort Worth, Texas

Demetrius Cady (U)   Saint Mary      Sr.        G         Minneapolis, Minn.

All-KCAC Second Team                 

Aaron Bachura(U)      McPherson      Sr.        G         Council Grove, Kan.

Isaak Rowe~(U)         Oklahoma Wesleyan   Jr.        G         Mansfield, Texas

DJ Wallace~+(U)        Southwestern  Sr.        G         Duncanville, Texas

Isaiah Palmer   Ottawa            Jr.        F          Brooklyn, N.Y.

Tyler Larkin~  Bethany           Jr.        G         Aurora, Colo.

All-KCAC Third Team          

Josh Wilchcombe        Oklahoma Wesleyan   Jr.        F          Elmont, N.Y.

Michael Johnson         York    Sr.        G/F      Orlando, Fla.

Jamiah Windom-Haynes (U)  Sterling            Fr.        F          Kyle, Texas

Terell Gandy   Kansas Wesleyan        Sr.        G         Junction City, Kan.

Titus Rice~+   Ottawa            Sr.        G         Colorado Springs, Colo.

Honorable Mention                  

Brett Marsh     Saint Mary      Sr.        F          Knob Knoster, Mo.

Hollis Mitchell            Ottawa            Sr.        G         Tulsa, Okla.

LaJuan Hardy Southwestern  So.       G         Houston, Texas

Chase Banister            Bethel  Sr.        G         Douglass, Kan.

Elbert Lawrence          Oklahoma Wesleyan   Jr.        G         Dallas, Texas

Breiman Alexander~^ Oklahoma Wesleyan   Jr.        G         Oklahoma City, Okla.

Tasmania Jones           Ottawa            Jr.        F          Parkin, Ark.

Patrick Burnett            York    Jr.        G/F      Erie, Pa.

Jacob Horsch   Southwestern  Sr.        G         Wichita, Kan.

Teyvon Lundy            Saint Mary      So.       G         New Orleans, La.

Chris Smith     York    Jr.        G         Dallas, Texas

Trevor Lenear  York    Sr.        G         Bellevue, Neb.

Jamon Fulton  Kansas Wesleyan        Sr.        G         Topeka, Kan.

Frederick Watts, Jr.     McPherson      Fr.        F          Houston, Texas

Deshun Patterson        Tabor   Sr.        G         Minneapolis, Minn.

All-KCAC Defensive Team             

Terell Gandy D           Kansas Wesleyan        Sr.        G         Junction City, Kan.

Brent Smith     Southwestern  Jr.        F          Goddard, Kan.

Josh Wilchcombe        Oklahoma Wesleyan   Jr.        F          Elmont, N.Y.

Tyler Larkin    Bethany           Jr.        G         Aurora, Colo.

Alan Urrutia    Tabor   Sr.        G         Valdosta, Ga.

All-KCAC Freshman Team      

Jamiah Windom-Haynes F      Sterling            Fr.        F          Kyle, Texas

Frederick Watts, Jr.     McPherson      Fr.        F          Houston, Texas

Isiah Saenz      Bethany           Fr.        G         San Antonio, Texas

Darius Hammond        Kansas Wesleyan        Fr.        G         Dallas, Texas

Kody Crosby  Sterling            Fr.        F          Great Bend, Kan.

(U) = Unanimous Selection

@= Selected “Player of the Year.”

# = Selected “Newcomer of the Year.”

F= Selected “Freshman of the Year.”

D = Selected “Defensive Player of the Year.”

* = 2016-17 All-KCAC First Team

^ = 2016-17 All-KCAC Second Team

+ = 2016-17 All-KCAC Third Team

~ = 2017-18 All-KCAC Preseason Team

Copyright © Rocking M Media, 2018. All Rights Reserved. No part of this story may be reproduced without Rocking M Media’s express consent.




Bethany Splits with York in KCAC opener

November 15, 2018 9:49 am

Bethany’s Duncan Named KCAC Offensive P...

November 14, 2018 11:13 am

AUDIO: KWU Coaches Show 11-12

November 13, 2018 9:07 am




Salina Woman Wins $1,000 ...
November 17, 2018Comments
Deer Causes Three-Vehicle...
November 17, 2018Comments
19th Annual Dr. Temple Fo...
November 16, 2018Comments
Vandals Cause $9,000 in D...
November 16, 2018Comments


Read all tweets
© 2007 - 2018 - EEO  - KDJM  - KABI  - KSAL-AM  - KSAL-FM  - KVOB  - KYEZ  - KZUH