KU Honors Area Seniors In Salina

The University of Kansas honored 89 area high school seniors in Salina Wednesday night.

The top academic seniors from Bennington High School, Ell-Saline High School, Ellsworth High School, Lincoln High School, Minneapolis High School, Sacred Heart High School, Salina Central High School, Salina South High School, Southeast of Saline High School, St. John’s Military School, Sylvan-Lucas Unified High School, Tescott High School, and Wilson High School were all recognized as part of the Kansas Honors Program.

KU Athletic Director Sheahon Zenger spoke. He said that while he normally speaks to student athletes, he also enjoys speaking to the best and brightest scholars. He told the scholars, each of whom is academically in the top ten percent of their class, that they truly are our future. He said that this is the generation that needs to rise up and solve our problems in DC, in Topeka, and locally. Zenger ended by saying “you are the students that I want my athletes to be friends with”.

The Kansas Honors Program recognizes and awards high school seniors for their academic achievements. Each year KU alumni gather in more than 37 locations across the state for an awards ceremony and honorary dinner or reception. All high-school seniors who rank academically in the top 10 percent of their class are asked to attend as guests of the Association with their parents, principals, counselors and superintendents.

The Kansas Honors Program has been a KU tradition since 1971. It is designed to promote academic excellence in secondary education, to reward high school seniors for their hard work and dedication, and to support Kansas communities.

Each Kansas Honor Scholar receives a certificate and a special edition of Webster’s New College Dictionary, and has a chance to qualify for a $4,000 scholarship to KU.

Each Kansas Honor Scholar receives a certificate and a special edition of Webster’s New College Dictionary.