Salina, KS

Now: 60 °

Currently: Clear

Hi: 74 ° | Lo: 53 °

KSAL Wins Station of the Year Award

KSAL StaffAugust 14, 2017

Rocking M Media Radio Station News Radio 1150 KSAL has been honored as the Kansas Association of Broadcasters Medium Market Radio Station of the Year.

The association announced its 2017 KAB Awards of Excellence on Monday. KSAL staff members earned 10 awards.

According to the KAB, over 800 radio entries were submitted by broadcasters from across the state. The entries were judged by the Michigan Association of Broadcasters.

The awards will be handed out at the KAB Convention in Manhattan in October.

KSAL Award Winners:

First Place

  • Hard News Feature / Enterprise – Standing Rock to Indian Rock – Todd Pittenger
  • News Feature – Radio Disney Takes Over South Middle School – Todd Pittenger
  • Sports Feature – Interview With Kevin Harlan – Pat Strathman
  • Sports Play by Play – Tabor vs Southwestern KCAC Basketball – James Westling

Second Place

  • Complete Sportscast – KSAL Sports – Pat Strathman
  • Sports Feature – Sound Off Featuring Hayden Basketball – Pat Strathman
  • Sports Play by Play – KCAC Men’s Basketball Championship York vs Southwestern – Jeremy Bohn / Pat Strathman
  • Complete Severe Weather Coverage – October Tornado – KSAL Severe Weather Team

Honorable Mention

  • Sports Feature – Clair Oleen Retirement – James Westling
  • News Feature – Team Maddie Pedals Into Salina – Todd Pittenger

This is the eighth time KSAL has won the station of the year award.


Copyright © Meridian Media, 2021. All Rights Reserved. No part of this story may be reproduced without Meridian Media’s express consent.



KSAL Honored as Station of the Year

October 17, 2017 4:48 am

One Year Ago: Rare October Tornadoes

October 6, 2017 4:15 am




Unused Medication Collect...
October 18, 2021Comments
Cost of Fuel Still Going ...
October 18, 2021Comments
Salina Man Stabbed
October 18, 2021Comments
Vehicle Strikes Parked Ca...
October 18, 2021Comments


Read all tweets