Kansas Residents Have Higher Taxes, Less Gun Regulation

Kansas residents are paying higher taxes on cigarettes, groceries and other consumer goods but no longer have to obtain a state permit to carry a concealed gun.

The tax increases and concealed carry change are among a raft of new state laws that took effect Wednesday.

Other new laws help veterans, tighten rules for state cash assistance recipients and ease restrictions on the sale and consumption of alcohol.

Fantasy sports leagues are now legal, and tuition increases at state universities will be capped this fall and next fall.

The state’s sales tax has increased to 6.5 percent from 6.15 percent, and the cigarette tax has jumped by 50 cents a pack to $1.29.

The tax hikes prevent a budget deficit for the fiscal year that started Wednesday.