K-State Unveils Six-Member Ring of Honor Class of 2022

Class of 2022 Bios


MANHATTAN, Kan. – An exclusive fraternity of K-State Football greats will grow by six members later this year, as K-State Athletics has announced the Ring of Honor Class of 2022.

The class, which will be officially inducted the weekend of the season opener against South Dakota, includes linebacker Arthur Brown (2011-12), running back Larry Brown (1967-68), defensive end Darren Howard (1996-99), quarterback Collin Klein (2009-12), wide receiver Tyler Lockett (2011-14) and quarterback Ell Roberson (2000-03).

“Each of these men hold a special place in the history of our program, and it will be an honor to be a part of their induction into our Ring of Honor,” head coach Chris Klieman said. “Their hard work and achievements on the field are well-documented, and we are excited to welcome them back to Manhattan for a special induction weekend.”

The Class of 2022 accumulated 31 total All-America citations during their careers, including 11 first-team honors. They have combined to reside in the top 10 of K-State game, single-season or career records on 209 occasions, which includes 48 total school records. The group also includes four Big 12 Champions with Roberson leading the Wildcats to a 35-7 win over No. 1 Oklahoma in the 2003 Big 12 Championship game, while Arthur Brown, Klein and Lockett were members of the 2012 Big 12 Championship team.

“As with past classes, I am truly honored to have coached five of these special young men who continue to represent Kansas State University in a special manner,” Bill Snyder said. “They are men of character, great leaders, talented football players and great representatives of their highly successful football program and the 16 Goals for Success.”

K-State’s Ring of Honor will now include 20 individuals, and this is the fourth class since the establishment of the honor in 2002, joining the 2008 and 2015 classes. Recognition into the Ring of Honor includes a permanent display of each individual’s name on the façade of Bill Snyder Family Stadium, the ring display just inside Gate B on the West Stadium Center concourse and inside the main lobby of the Vanier Family Football Complex.

“This is a tremendous group of players and young men,” Athletics Director Gene Taylor said. “I would like to thank Coach Snyder and Coach Klieman for their involvement in the selection of these new inductees, but more importantly, each individual for all they have done for Kansas State football, our athletics program and our university. It will be a memorable weekend to celebrate their accomplishments.”

The six-member Class of 2022 will join 2002 honorees Lynn Dickey (QB – 1968-70), Steve Grogan (QB – 1972-74), Jaime Mendez (DB – 1990-93), Sean Snyder (P – 1991-92), Gary Spani (LB – 1974-77) and Veryl Switzer (RB – 1951-53); Class of 2008 members David Allen (RB/PR – 1997-2000), Martin Gramatica (PK – 1994-98), Terence Newman (DB – 1999-2002) and Mark Simoneau (LB – 1996-99); and Class of 2015 inductees Michael Bishop (QB – 1997-98), Jordy Nelson (WR – 2005-07), Clarence Scott (DB – 1968-70) and Darren Sproles (RB – 2000-04).