Governor Awards Funds to Saline County 28th Judicial District Community Corrections

Kansas Governor Laura Kelly, on behalf of the Kansas Criminal Justice Coordinating Council (KCJCC), is pleased to announce the Fiscal Year 2020 grant awards for the Federal Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant (JAG) program. The grant program is a partnership among federal, state and local governments to create safer communities and improve criminal justice systems.

“The funds will go a long way in supporting our law enforcement agencies and criminal justice programs,” Kelly said. “These organization work hard to protect our communities, and need tools in place to create a safer environment for all Kansans.”

The JAG program provides critical funding to support a range of program areas such as law enforcement, corrections, drug treatment and enforcement, technology improvement, prevention activities, crime victim services and mental health programs.

The KCJCC oversees the criminal justice federal funding made available to Kansas through the U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs and Bureau of Justice Assistance. The KCJCC membership is representative of the Governor, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, Attorney General, Secretary of Corrections, Superintendent of the Kansas Highway Patrol and Director of the Kansas Bureau of Investigation.

A total of $2,488,170 was awarded to 28 agencies.

2020 Justice Assistance Grant Awards
CountyOrganization NameGrant Award
BrownHorton Police Department$24,890
BrownSac & Fox Nation of Missouri in Kansas and Nebraska$34,650
ButlerEl Dorado Police Department$34,399
EllisNorthwest Kansas Community Corrections$87,837
GrahamGraham County Sheriff’s Office$48,750
JacksonJackson County Sheriff’s Office$129,399
JacksonPrairie Band Potawatomi Tribal Police$32,961
Johnson10th Judicial District Court$20,000
JohnsonOne Heart Project$236,910
LeavenworthBrothers In Blue Reentry$276,599
LinnLinn County Sheriff’s Department$71,265
Lyon5th Judicial District Community Corrections$43,212
LyonKansas CASA Association$34,396
MarshallMarysville Police Department$28,708
MontgomeryCherryvale Police Department$45,306
MontgomeryCoffeyville Police Department$44,990
PottawatomiePottawatomie County Sheriff’s Department$149,196
Saline28th Judicial District Community Corrections$83,690
ScottWestern Kansas Child Advocacy Center$160,000
SedgwickCity of Wichita Police Department$95,633
SedgwickEpiscopal Social Services$74,287
SedgwickVia Christi Hospitals Wichita$120,000
ShawneeKansas Coalition Against Sexual and Domestic Violence$68,000
ShawneeKansas Department of Corrections$67,311
ShawneeKansas Department of Corrections Victim Services$182,727
WyandotteAvenue of Life$226,656
WyandotteUnified Gov’t of Wyandotte County / Kansas City Kansas$12,056