Kelly Reelected Kansas Govenror

Kansas Governor Laura Kelly has been elected to a second four-year term. The race was closely watched to see if the state would flip back to the GOP. Kansas traditionally votes for Republicans in presidential election years, but it has had numerous Democratic governors.

Kelly released a statement Wednesday afternoon:

“I thank the people of Kansas for the honor to continue serving the state we love. These first 4 years were about getting our state back on track. These next 4 years are about making sure Kansas lives up to its potential as the best place to raise a family. The future is bright.”

Salina area farmer and former state representative Steven Johnson will be the new Kansas State Treasurer. The Republican Johnson defeated incumbent Democrat Lynn Rogers by 13 percent.

Incumbent Jerry Moran is the winner of the Kansas U.S. Senate race. Moran defeated Democratic challenger and former Kansas City, Kansas, Mayor Mark Holland in yesterday’s general election. The Republican Moran was first elected to the U.S. Senate in 2010.

Kansas’s delegation to the U.S. House of Representatives will remain unchanged in 2023. Republican incumbent Tracey Mann defeated Democrat James Beard in the First District, Republican Incumbent Jake LaTurner beat Democrat Patrick Schmidt in the Second District and Republican Incumbent Ron Estes prevailed over Democrat Bob Hernandez in the Fourth District in yesterday’s election. Democratic incumbent Sharice Davids defeated Republican Amanda Adkins in the Third District in a rematch of the 2020 election.

Locally in Saline County, in the race for the Kansas House of Representatives 69th District Seat,  incumbent Republican Clarke Sanders won a second term by defeating Democrat Sarah Crews. Sandeers won 6 percent of the vote.

Voter turnout in Saline County was 44 percent.

_ _ _