Salina, KS

Now: 58 °F

Currently: Cloudy

Hi: 81 °F | Lo: 38 °F


Hi: 63 °F 

Lo: 41 °F


Hi: 70 °F 

Lo: 44 °F


Hi: 73 °F 

Lo: 50 °F


Hi: 61 °F 

Lo: 42 °F


Hi: 55 °F 

Lo: 38 °F

Careers at SRHC
Santa Stash 2017

Two Inducted Into Business Hall Of Fame

KSAL Staff - October 15, 2014 8:00 pm

Charles Underwood (left) is credited with being the founder of Salina’s milling industry, Charlie E. Stevens Jr. (right) founded Stevens Contractors Inc.

Two prominent Salina businessmen are the newest members of the Salina Business Hall of Fame.

During an event Wednesday evening at the Salina Country Club, Charles Underwood and Charlie Stevens were inducted into the 2014 class of the Salina Business Hall of Fame.

Charles Underwood is credited with being the founder of Salina’s milling industry. he was inducted into the Pioneer Category, 1858-1925.  Charlie E. Stevens, Jr., is the founder and owner of Stevens Contractors. He was inducted in the Contemporary Category,1976-present.

Bill Graves, former Kansas Governor and President/CEO of the American Trucking Associations, was the featured speaker.

The Salina Business Hall of Fame was established by the Salina Area Chamber of Commerce in 2005. Its purpose is to recognize and honor Salina business leaders, both past and present, who have made extraordinary contributions to Salina, earned the respect of the local community and called attention to the Free Enterprise system and its value to our country and citizens in shaping Salina’s way of life.

Each inductee is recognized with a commemorative plaque. In addition, plaques honoring each inductee will be displayed at the Chamber office, 120 W. Ash.

Past inductees include: (Pioneer) Henry David Lee, Alexander Campbell, Oscar Seitz and Winfield Watson, Benjamin Aaron Litowich; William R. Geis, William A. Phillips, and Thomas Watson Roach; (Historic) Ward A. Marshall, William Henry Graves, John J. Vanier, M.J. Kennedy, Milton Morrison, Charles W. Shaver, C. William “Bill” Exline, Murray Wilson, Ralph E. Reitz, S. Dean Evans, Sr., Whitley Austin, Ben Sellers, George L. Frisbie, and Verla Nesbitt Joscelyn, and (Contemporary) Alfred P.G. Schwan, Charlie Walker, Roy Applequist, Lee Young, Paul E. Junk, Jack Vanier, James R. Allen, Richard E. Brown, Karl Stutterheim, and Mike Berkley.

City of Salina