Salina, KS

Now: 65 °F

Currently: Cloudy

Hi: 65 °F | Lo: 60 °F


Hi: 79 °F 

Lo: 68 °F


Hi: 72 °F 

Lo: 42 °F


Hi: 73 °F 

Lo: 50 °F


Hi: 75 °F 

Lo: 48 °F


Hi: 64 °F 

Lo: 43 °F

Salina Surgical Hospital
election 2017

Students Win KSAL Scholarships

Todd Pittenger - June 3, 2015 8:20 pm

The scholarship winners with hall of fame coach Francis Flax. (back row from left) Tanner Hoekman, Alison Rassette, Marysa Bradshaw, Linzy Kaniper, and KSAL's Mike Hammett. (front row from left) Emma Drees, coach Francis Flax, Maggie Doll.

Six of the area’s recent high school graduates received a little boost to fund their college education on Wednesday night. Each was awarded a $1,000 scholarship.

KSAL and the Salina Media Group presented its annual Sportscasters Club Scholarship Banquet at St. John’s Military School. Five Saline County high schools (Salina Central, Salina South, Sacred Heart, Southeast of Saline and Ell-Saline) and Abilene High School each nominated three senior student-athletes for the honor for their school.

Winners were Salina Central’s Marysa Bradshaw, Salina South’s Alison Rassette, Sacred Heart’s Maggie Doll, Southeast of Saline’s Linzy Kaniper, Ell-Saline’s Emma Drees, and Abilene’s Tanner Hoekman.

The night also included a keynote address from hall of fame basketball head coach Francis Flax, the winningest coach in junior college history. He spoke about what it takes to be a champion, starting the Brown Mackie College basketball program and building it into a national power, and winning a national champion, and taking the Kansas Cagerz professional basketball team to a title. Flax told the crowd he was impressed by the list of accomplishments for all of the nominees.

This year’s scholarship winners are awarded a plaque and a $1,000 scholarship to the institution they will be attending.

The KSAL/SMG Sportscasters Club is comprised of area businesses which sponsor game broadcasts and fund the scholarship.