Salina, KS

Now: 71 °F

Currently: Fair

Hi: 79 °F | Lo: 41 °F


Hi: 55 °F 

Lo: 27 °F


Hi: 61 °F 

Lo: 39 °F


Hi: 62 °F 

Lo: 41 °F


Hi: 52 °F 

Lo: 27 °F


Hi: 50 °F 

Lo: 37 °F

Sankey Auto
Santa Stash 2017

Salina Legislator Punished For Vote

Associated Press - November 16, 2015 6:54 am

Diana Dierks joined in on the KSAL Morning News Thursday

Two Kansas lawmakers who voted against school funding changes have been removed from a Kansas House committee that oversees education.

Reps. Diana Dierks, of Salina, and John Ewy, of Jetmore, were notified this week that they had been taken off the committee. Their replacements voted in favor of the bill that replaced the state’s per-pupil formula for distributing aid to districts with stable “block grants” based on what districts received previously. The plan is to use the block grants for two years while the system for funding public schools is revamped.

Dierks says that when she asked why she was removed from the education committee, she was told it was for the betterment of the caucus. She was moved to the elections committee.


Associated Press information from: Lawrence Journal-World


Stan Clemons

November 16, 2015 at 9:11 am

If this is true then its time to clean up Topeka with recalls of those involved.

Larry Elmquist

November 16, 2015 at 1:47 pm

Throughout history there have been hundreds, if not thousands, of governments that feared and silenced or even punished dissent. In our country, there are two ways correct this. George III experienced one way, our ballot box is the other.

Comments are closed.

City of Salina