Salina, KS

Now: 45 °F

Currently: Fair

Hi: 61 °F | Lo: 28 °F


Hi: 54 °F 

Lo: 34 °F


Hi: 62 °F 

Lo: 33 °F


Hi: 49 °F 

Lo: 26 °F


Hi: 57 °F 

Lo: 36 °F


Hi: 59 °F 

Lo: 32 °F

Hospice of Salina
Santa Stash 2017

Republican Delegates Selected in Salina

KSAL Staff - April 17, 2016 8:46 am

Kansas Republicans from the 1st District met in Salina Saturday to select three of the 2,472 Republican delegates who will be attending the Republican National Convention in Cleveland, Ohio, this summer.

Organizers had anticipated about 80 people at the event. Instead, there was a stand-room only crowd of over 100.

Executive Director of Kansas Republican Party Clayton Barker spoke, before each of the 40 people who had filed to be a delegate were given one minute to speak.

The three delegates selected were:

  • Tom Arpke of Salina
  • Peggy Mast of Emporia
  • Dave Bohnenblust of McPherson

Because of the results of the recent caucus in Saline County, two of the delegates will be pledged to Ted Cruz and one to Donald Trump. Arpke and Mast will be delegates for Ted Cruz, while Bohnenblust will be a delegate for Donald Trump


Those not picked on Saturday will have one more chance when the Kansas Republican Party State Committee meets in mid-May.  At that meeting seven more of the nominees from the First District will be chosen.

Kansas has a total of 40 delegates who will be going to the National Convention.

Kansas Congressman Tim Huehlskamp was also at the event, and was the featured speaker after the voting concluded.


republican delegates 01

Republicans vote in Salina Saturday.



Doug Clemens

April 17, 2016 at 10:53 pm

More reason not to re-elect Tom Arpke.

Comments are closed.

City of Salina