ksal.com
 
ISG Technology
Santa Stash

Police Reviewing YouTube Video

Jeff Garretson - October 7, 2013 11:28 am

Salina Police are reviewing an arrest made outside a local bar after a YouTube video comes out.

According to Lt. Scott Siemsen, officers were called to the Speakeasy, 2030 S. Ohio, just after 11pm Friday night after an argument inside spilled into the parking lot.

Lt. Siemsen tells KSAL News that several patrons were asked by management to leave the bar and the area near the front door.

Police arrested 22-year-old Mitchell Vest of Salina for disorderly conduct and failure to comply with officers.

During the arrest, another officer appears to be trying to control the scene and forces an individual to the ground.

Lt Siemsen says Police are taking the incident seriously, “We’re looking at it to see if there are any other charges forthcoming,” he said.

Since first appearing on Saturday, the YouTube video has been viewed over 10,000 times.

CAUTION VIDEO CONTAINS EXPLICIT LANGUAGE

Kevinandcj Hall

October 7, 2013 at 2:23 pm

Common place for this city

Thomas Heiter

October 7, 2013 at 4:33 pm

i think maybe you worthless scum should be home or doing something more productive than sitting around a crappy bar and looking to start fights? i think the whole lot of you should have been pepper-sprayed. crybabies like you all are a blight on a otherwise decent small city.

Hammy Hamilton

October 7, 2013 at 5:57 pm

huummmmm seems to me like the officer did the wrong thing and now just because he has a badge he can do as he wants to people…… i think he needs to be brought up on charges and maybe suspended without pay to teach him a lesson…… but we all know it wont happen he will be set free and slapped on the hands just think if it had been the other way around the guy would be in jail with prolly 5 counts against him…..TRUE STORY!!!

Bob Bowser

October 7, 2013 at 10:48 pm

So the PD which is led by a NON-elected official is investigating ITSELF?
Anyone heard of the Fox guarding the Hen-house?
Gotta go… hear a helicopter… NO it’s a drone!

James Jones

October 8, 2013 at 8:26 am

Swiney Hamilton, you’re wrong and obviously on the wrong side of law enforcement.

Redden Neck

October 8, 2013 at 8:42 am

How are they going to cover this up? When taking someone down you do it in one motion and stay with the person. You do not do a WWF move and slam the person down and walk away. This cop should be fired immediately and if he is not then the city manager who is in charge over the department should be asked to resign. There is no structure at the police department and the city manager should have been looking for a chief months ago and had one hired in September as the last do nothing chief was to leave in October. But here we are in October and he has not hired anyone. We do not need cops that pull this on the force. What he did was uncalled for and is police brutality.

Doris Tatro

October 8, 2013 at 10:34 am

The drunken ‘kids’ get into a physical fight inside of the bar, they are kicked out and got the cops called on them. Then one tries to go back in the place he was just kicked out of because of a hat? The seem confrontational to the cops on the video and while one is being arrested another one approaches the cop and then he is lowered by the cop, how was the cop to know if them man was going to be aggressive or not. Do not approach a cop whiling he is making an arrest. The drunks were asked to leave by the bar manager AND the police but instead they decide to stand around and be disorderly and now people are blaming the police? Many people do dumb stuff when they have consumed too much alcohol but then when they finally sober up they realize they were in the wrong and made a fool of themselves, yet these ‘kids’ still feel as if they were completely innocent? If you weren’t doing anything wrong then you would not have been kicked out of the bar and you would not have had the police called on you. It is called taking responsibility for your stupidity!

Alesha Schoshke

October 8, 2013 at 10:57 am

The video is pretty grainy, but here is what I see. There is a large group of drunk kids standing around a bar after getting into a fight inside. There they already have showed violent behavior. They are smart mouthing the cops, and when one begins to be arrested, a second rushes the arresting officer and seems to try and grab at him. Coming to the officer’s aid, another officer pulls him off and tosses him aside, then turns to protect the first officer while a third goes to the man thrown to the ground. Yes, the officer could have just pulled him off and not thrown him to the ground, but where this group of kids has already shown they are in the mood for a fight, I think everything was handled properly. I think that kid is just lucky to not have been arrested right along with the other kid. I could be completely off, but that is my opinion on this whole situation.

Alesha Schoshke

October 8, 2013 at 11:03 am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NVaDz2t6FjI

Start at about 3 min in. This is police brutality. Not what happened in Salina

Redden Neck

October 8, 2013 at 4:05 pm

Are you kidding me? You an I are not watching the same video. That cop rushed up to that guy gave him a body slam and did a little dance as he walked away. Further why did they need a half dozen cops there to begin with and explain why the deameaner of the cops changed once they found out someone was filming them.

Kevin Hays

October 9, 2013 at 8:34 am

The officer did nothing wrong, they should have arrested every one of those still there when they arrived on the scene as they had been told to leave the area already and failed to do so.

Iggy P Daily

October 9, 2013 at 9:13 am

The cop had no right to slam this guy like he did. People wonder why no one has any respect for the police but its incidents like this that gives all of us a negative picture of these guys. I am sure he was not trained to let his anger take over. He needs to be gone from the force before he kills someone.

Kammy Reeves

October 11, 2013 at 12:48 am

He was drunk & fighting in a bar that he got kicked out of. Outside of the same bar which he was asked to leave, he tries to go back in. The police were called to get involved & right off the bat, this guy is disrespectful with the dumb “Where’s your warrant?” question. A warrant for a PUBLIC parking lot that the SPD were called to come to. I think the officer handled it quite well. Brutality? NOT EVEN CLOSE! I would have zapped that guy until he peed his pants! It’s obvious, he has no respect for himself. No respect for his peers, and no respect for those in authority over him. Having diarrhea of the mouth does NOT make a person a victim when the police have had enough of blatant disrespect. The officer just handed that guy a six-pack of “SHUT-YER-MOUTH”! This guy & his buddies need to take what shred of dignity they may have and let this go. Although the media can be informative, they should stop raking this over the coals. A dude gets drunk. An attitude follows this state of drunkenness & a fight ensues. He gets kicked out & STILL has an attitude when police arrive. I’m sure the guy was only there for the ambiance! A cop’s job is to enforce the laws already made. It’s not quantum physics to abide by these laws. It’s not the PD’s fault if/when you don’t.

Comments are closed.

City of Salina