Salina, KS

Now: 50 °F

Currently: Fair

Hi: 50 °F | Lo: 48 °F


Hi: 79 °F 

Lo: 39 °F


Hi: 63 °F 

Lo: 40 °F


Hi: 68 °F 

Lo: 45 °F


Hi: 72 °F 

Lo: 49 °F


Hi: 58 °F 

Lo: 38 °F

Santa Stash 2017

VIDEO: Hardy Wins Election Recount

Todd Pittenger - April 15, 2015 10:30 am

Following a recount of votes, Salina City Commissioner Randall Hardy has retained his seat. Hardy has defeated Joe Hay Jr. by three votes.

After last week’s election, incumbent commissioner Randall Hardy lead Hay for the third and final open commission seat by just a single vote, 2,136 to 2,135.

Saline County Commissioners met Monday morning to finalize the election, which meant looking at a group of provisional ballots to determine if they should be counted. The commission determined that 33 provisional ballots could be counted. After those ballots were counted the race was a tie, 2,141 to 2,141.

A coin toss, won by Hay, broke the tie.

Hardy had the option of asking for a recount. He had until 5:00 Tuesday evening to turn in a letter, asking for a recount. A letter requesting the recount was turned in Monday afternoon.

The recount happened Wednesday morning. It took about an hour and a half.

Merriman told KSAL News that he actually recounted the votes twice. Both times the final results were exactly the same.

Merriman also explained how the final vote tally changed. He said that on election night, as paper ballots started being fed in the machine that counts them, there was a malfunction. The machine was re-calibrated, and sample ballots were then fed into it. After it was determined that everything was working, the machine was set back to zero, and the vote count was restarted. The initial first few ballots that were fed through it were not re-fed, though. “Basically, it was human error”, Merriman concluded.

Hay told KSAL News that he was disappointed, but not discouraged from staying active in the community. “I will be back again”, he vowed.

With Hay’s narrow defeat, Karl Ryan will be the only new face on the Salina City Commission following Monday’s meeting. Mayor Aaron Householter was the lone incumbent not to win reelection.

The new Salina City Commission will consist of Jon Blanchard, Kaye Crawford, Dr. Trent Davis, Karl Ryan, and Randall Hardy.


Fred Hanson

April 16, 2015 at 8:01 am

Corruption is alive and well in Salina Kansas. Its time to totally clean house from Gage on down to Merriman.

Brandon Myers

April 16, 2015 at 12:23 pm

You got that right brother. Gage could not lose another person off the commission he controls. People complained about the Saline county commission but the gov did what he was asked to do an appointed to old city commissioners. There should have been an election to add to that commission not an appointment. You say CORRUPTION you are so right. Wonder how much Merriman was paid on the side for this? This guy is also something wearing a shirt that disgraces our flag bet he never served one day in the military so he has no respect for the flag. Salina is becoming such a mess and its time the citizens wake up and take control.

Brandon Myers

April 16, 2015 at 12:31 pm

Another point now lets wait until Hardy screws up and do a recall on his butt.

Fred Hanson

April 16, 2015 at 3:47 pm

Merriman seems to be in the middle of all of this an needs to resign. He no longer can be trusted in the position he is in. Let’s see what those hot hot new county commissioners do. I bet nothing since they are tied into Gage who is the puppet master in all of this. An investigation needs to be done by those outside of politics.

Comments are closed.

City of Salina